Syngas Convention 4 and COVID-19 South Africa

Due to the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and the associated travel restrictions and health/safety concerns the Syngas Convention 4, originally planned for 2021, will be postponed. Updates will be published her and under in due course. Please visit the South African government’s COVID-19 portal for help, advice and latest updates.

About Syngas Convention 3

The DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Catalysis (c*change) at the University of Cape Town extends a cordial invitation to delegates from throughout the world to participate in the Convention ‘Fuels and chemicals from synthesis gas: State of the art 3’.

The meeting will be held from 25 to 28 March 2018 at the Vineyard Hotel, Cape Town. This third Convention focuses on the production of synthesis gas and its conversion. World-renowned specialists in the field have been invited to give lectures on fundamental and applied topics covering the whole value chain from synthesis gas to final products.

Syngas Convention 3 (25 - 28 March 18)

Participants are encouraged to present their own work in the form of either an oral or a poster presentation. Themes on which papers are invited include synthesis gas production (dry and steam reforming, WGS and H2 clean-up), Fischer-Tropsch and methanol synthesis, CO2 activation, paraffin and olefin transformation.

The convention will in particular focus on:

• Modeling aspects heterogeneous catalysis
• Catalyst synthesis and characterization
• Product formation and selectivity
• Deactivation

Selected presentations from the convention will be published in a Special Issue of Catalysis Today.

The Convention is preceded by an Autumn School on ‘Industrial catalysis and CO2 activation’ with lectures by leading experts, which will be held from 22 to 24 March in the Erinvale Estate, Somerset West, Cape Town. The attendance at the Autumn school will be limited to 50 participants.

The detailed programme for the Autumn School is available here.

Autumn School (22 - 24 March 18)

Key Dates

Submission of Abstracts
30 November 2017

Publication of Programme
15 February 2018

End of Early Bird Registration
15 February 2018

Plenary Speakers

Prof Gabriele Centi photo

Prof Gabriele Centi

Industrial Chemistry Professor - University of Messina, Italy

Research Interests:Professor Centi’s research activities cover many fields of heterogeneous catalysis (including photo- and electro-catalysis) and the development of related sustainable processes, technologies and devices for chemical production, energy, and environmental protection. Solar-driven chemistry and energy as well as the circular economy are the main topics on which his research is focused.

Prof Levi Thompson photo

Prof Levi Thompson

Professor of Chemical and Mechanical Engineering – University of Michigan, USA

Research Interests:Research in Professor Thompson’s group focuses on the design, synthesis and characterization of chemicals and nanostructured materials for catalytic and energy storage applications. Of particular interest is the development structure-function relationships that enable the design of highly efficient materials. Current projects to develop nanostructured catalytic materials focus on hydrogen and synfuels production, biomass deoxidation and NOx abatement.

Prof Yong-Wang Li photo

Prof Yong-Wang Li

Chinese Academy of Sciences and Synfuels China – Beijing, China

Research Interests:Professor Yong-Wang Li is the founder and president of Synfuels China Technology Co., Ltd., a Beijing-based company focusing on advanced conversion technologies for coal, natural gas, and other energy assets since 2006. Prof Li has also built up a series of subsidiary companies around the world. He is a leading professor at the Chinese Academy of Science (CAS) in the Institute of Coal Chemistry. As the director of the Chinese National Engineering Laboratory of Indirect Coal Liquefaction and the National Energy Research Center for Clean Fuels from Coal, Professor Li leads a research team that carries out advanced research projects in industrial coal and gas conversion processes.

Prof Mike Bowker photo

Prof Mike Bowker

Surface Science Professor - Cardiff University, United Kingdom

Research Interests:The work of Professor Bowker’s group is aimed at gaining an understanding of heterogeneous catalysis. This especially involves aspects of the structure and reactivity of anchored nanoparticles, that is, small metal particles (e.g. Au, Pd, Pt) bound to inorganic surfaces. Work is also conducted on iron molybdate catalysts for the selective oxidation of methanol to formaldehyde, and on the production of new fuels (especially hydrogen) using photocatalysis.

Keynote Speakers

Prof Emiel Hensen photo

Prof Emiel Hensen

Eindhoven University of Technology, The Netherlands

Dr Gonzalo Prieto photo

Dr Gonzalo Prieto

Max Planck Institute for Coal Research Mühlheim and der Ruhr, Germany

Mr Philip Gibson photo

Mr Philip Gibson

SASOL, South Africa

Prof Ye Wang photo

Prof Ye Wang

Xiamen University, China

Prof Michael Claeys photo

Prof Michael Claeys

University of Cape Town, South Africa

Prof Xiulian Pan photo

Prof Xiulian Pan

Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China

For More Information

For any further information on the Autumn School or the Convention, please do not hesitate to contact the conference secretariat.

Contact Us

Organisations and Partners

The Syngas Convention is organized by the DST-NRF Centre of Excellence in Catalysis c*change hosted by the University of Cape Town under the auspices of the Catalysis Society of South Africa (CATSA).